Academic Calendars

Academic Calendar - Fall 2017

The Prairie View A&M Academic Calendar is subject to change. Please check the Prairie View A&M University website for updates.

Date Description
September 5 - 12, Tuesday - Tuesday Registration Period for Fall 2017 session
September 5, Tuesday First Class Day. Instruction Begins.
September 6, Wednesday General Student Assembly-All Students Attend
September 12, Tuesday Student Web Registration Access Closes
September 20, Wednesday 12th Class Day (Census Date)
Last Day to Drop Course(s) without Academic Record
Late Deadline for graduating Undergraduates to submit Application for Tuition Rebate form
September 21- November 6, Thursday-Monday Withdrawal from Courses with Academic Record ("W") Period
October 2, Monday 20th Class Day
October 13, Friday Extended deadline to apply for Fall 2017 graduation- commencement ceremony participation)
October 19-21, Thursday-Saturday Mid-Semester Examination Period
October 24, Tuesday Mid-Semester Grades Due
November 6, Monday Withdrawal from Course(s) with Academic Record ("W") Ends
November 7, Tuesday 60% of Term
November 14 - January 10, Tuesday-Wednesday Priority Registration Period for Spring 2018 Semester
November 17, Friday Deadline to Apply for Spring 2018 Graduation
November 23-25, Thursday-Saturday Thanksgiving Holiday (University Closed)
November 27, Monday Classes Resume
December 4 - 5, Monday-Tuesday Course Review Day Classes must convene and instructors will prepare students for Final Exams
December 5, Tuesday Last Class Day for Fall 2017 semester
Last Day to Withdraw from the University (From All Courses) for the Fall 2017 semester
Last Day to Apply for Fall 2017 Degree Conferral ONLY
December 6 - 12, Wednesday-Tuesday Final Examination Period
December 13, Wednesday Final Grades Due for Graduating Candidates
December 16, Saturday Commencement (All Levels)
December 19, Tuesday Final Grades Due

Fall 2017 1st 8 Week

The Prairie View A&M University Academic Calendar is subject to change.

Date Description
August 24 - 26, Thursday - Saturday Registration
August 28, Monday First Class Day. Instruction Begins
September 4, Monday Labor Day (University Closed)
September 5, Tuesday 6th Class Day (Census Date)
September 5, Tuesday Last Day to Withdraw from Course(s) without Academic Record
September 6, Wednesday - October 13, Friday Withdrawal from Courses with Academic Record ("W") Period
September 6, Wednesday General Student Assembly - All Students to Attend
September 11, Monday 10th Class Day for 1st 8-week session
September 13, Wednesday Late Deadline to Apply for Fall 2017 Graduation
September 13, Wednesday Late Deadline for graduating Undergraduates to submit Application for Tuition Rebate for Fall 2017
September 27, Wednesday 60% of Term
October 16, Monday Last Day to Drop or Withdraw from Course(s) for 1st 8-week session
October 16, Monday Final Exams. Last Class Day for 1st 8-week session
October 24, Tuesday Final Grades Due via Panthertracks for Fall 2017 1st 8-week session

Fall 2017 2nd 8 Week

The Prairie View A&M Academic Calendar is subject to change. Please check the Prairie View A&M University website for updates. 

Date Description
August 24 - October 21, Thursday - Friday Registration - 2nd 8 week session
October 17, Tuesday First Class Day for 2nd 8-week session
October 24, Tuesday 6th Class Day (Census Date)
October 24, Tuesday Last Day to Withdraw from Course(s) without Academic Record for the 2nd 8-week session
October 25 - December 4, Wednesday - Monday Withdrawal from Course(s) with Academic Record ("W") Period for 2nd 8-week session
October 30, Monday 10th Class Day
November 20, Monday 60% of Term
November 23 - 25, Thursday - Saturday Thanksgiving Holiday (University Closed)
December 4, Monday Last Day to Drop or Withdraw from Course(s) for Fall 2nd 8-week session
December 5, Tuesday Final Exams. Last Class Day for Fall 2nd 8-week session
December 16, Saturday Commencement (All Levels)
December 19, Tuesday Final Grades Due

 Academic Calendar Spring 2018

The Prairie View A&M Academic Calendar is subject to change. Please check the Prairie View A&M University website for updates. (*indicates revision)

Date Description
January 11 - January 13, Thursday - Saturday Registration
January 15, Monday Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Day (University Closed)
January 16, Tuesday First Class Day. Instruction Begins
January 16 - January 20, Tuesday - Saturday Late Registration and Drop/Add Period
January 20, Tuesday Student Web Registration Access Closes at Midnight
Late Deadline to apply for Spring 2018 graduation
Last Day to Withdraw from Course(s) without Academic Record - Spring 2018
Late Deadline for Graduating Undergraduate Students to Submit Application for Tuition Rebate
January 20, Saturday Late Registration and Add Course(s), Change Major Ends
January 25, Thursday General Student Assembly-All Students Attend
January 31, Wednesday 12th Class Day (Census Date)
Last Day to Withdraw from Course(s) Without Academic Record - Spring 2018
Late Deadline to Apply for Spring 2018 Graduation
Late Deadline for Graduating Undergraduates to Submit Application for Tuition Rebate for Spring 2018
February 1 - April 2, Thursday - Monday Withdrawal from Courses with Academic Record ("W") Period
February 12, Monday 20th Class Day
March 8 - 10, Thursday - Saturday Mid-Semester Examination Period
March 12- 17, Monday- Saturday Spring Break
March 16, Friday Spring Break (University Closed)
March 19, Monday Classes Resume
March 20, Tuesday Mid-Semester Grades Due
March 23, Friday 60% of Term
March 28, Wednesday Founders Day/Honors Convocation
March 30 - 31. Friday - Saturday Good Friday/Easter (Student Holiday)
April 2, Monday Withdrawal from Course(s) with Academic record ("W") Ends
April 10 - May 23, Tuesday - Wednesday Priority Registration Period for Summer/ Fall 2018
April 13, Friday Graduation Application Deadline for Summer 2018
April 13, Friday Deadline for Graduating Undergraduate Students to Submit Application for Tuition Rebate
April 30 - May 1, Monday - Tuesday Course Review Days Classes must convene and instructors will prepare students for Final Exams
May 1, Tuesday Last Class Day for Spring Semester
Last Day to Withdraw from the University (From All Courses) for the Spring 2018 Semester
Deadline to apply for Sping 2018 Degree Conferral ONLY
May 2 - May 8, Wednesday-Tuesday Final Examination Period
May 11, Friday Commencement (Doctoral and Masters)
May 12, Saturday Commencement (Bachelors)
May 15, Tuesday Final Grades Due

 Academic Calendar Spring 2018 1st 8-Week Session

The Prairie View A&M Academic Calendar is subject to change. Please check the Prairie View A&M University website for updates.

Date Description
January 11 - 13, Thursday - Saturday Registration
January 15, Monday Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Day (University Closed)
January 16, Tuesday First Class Day
January 23, Tuesday Last Day to Withdraw from Course(s) without Academic Record
6th Class Day (Census Date)
January 24 - March 8, Wednesday - Thursday Withdrawal from Course(s) with Academic Record ("W") Period for Spring 2018 1st 8 week session
January 25, Thursday General Student Assembly - All Students to Attend
January 29, Monday 10th Class Day - Spring 2018 1st 8-week
January 31, Wednesday Late Deadline to Apply for Spring 2018 Graduation
January 31, Wednesday Late Deadline for Graduating Undergraduate Students to Submit Application for Tuition Rebate
February 14, Friday 60% of Term
March 6, Monday Last Day to Drop or Withdraw from Course(s)
March 9, Friday Last Class Day for Spring 2018 1st 8-Week Session
Last Class Day - Spring 2018 1st 8-week
March 12 - 17, Monday - Saturday SPRING BREAK
March 16, Friday SPRING BREAK (University Closed)
March 20, Tuesday Final Grades Due for All Students in Spring 2018 1st 8-Week Session

 Spring 2018 2nd 8 Week

The Prairie View A&M Academic Calendar is subject to change. Please check the Prairie View A&M University website for updates.

Date Description
January 11, Thursday - March 16, Friday Registration - 2nd 8-Week
February 1, Wednesday Late Deadline to Apply for Spring 2018 Graduation
February 1, Wednesday Late Deadline for Graduating Undergraduate Students to Submit Application for Tuition Rebate
March 12 - 17, Monday - Saturday Spring Break
March 16, Friday Spring Break (University Closed)
March 19, Monday First Class Day for 2nd 8-Week Session
March 26, Monday 6th Class Day (Census Date)
Last Day to Withdraw from Course(s) without Academic Record for 2nd 8-week Session
March 27 - May 04, Tuesday - Friday Withdrawal from Courses with Academic Record ("W") Period - 2nd 8-week
March 30, Friday 10th Class Day - Spring 2018 2nd 8-week
March 30 - 31, Friday - Saturday Good Friday/Easter (Student Holiday)
April 18, Monday 60% of Term
May 4, Tuesday Last Day to Drop or Withdraw from Course(s) - 2nd 8-week Session
May 7, Monday Last Class Day - Spring 2018 2nd 8-week
New Row Final Exams - Spring 2018 2nd 8-week
May 9, Tuesday Grades Due via Panthertracks for Graduating Candidates
May 11, Friday Commencement (Doctoral and Master's)
May 12, Saturday Commencement (Bachelor's)
May 15, Tuesday Final Grades Due

Academic Calendar Summer 2018 10-Week

The Prairie View A&M Academic Calendar is subject to change. Please check the Prairie View A&M University website for updates.

Date Description
May 24 - 26, Tuesday-Saturday Registration (First and Second 5 and 10-week sessions)
May 28, Monday Memorial Day Holiday (University Closed)
May 29, Tuesday First Class Day
Late Registration - First 5 and 10 week sessions - Web Registration Closes at Midnight
June 1, Friday 4th Class Day (Census Date)
LAST DAY to Withdraw Drop Course(s) without Academic Record (First 5 and 10 week sessions)
Late Deadline to Apply for Summer 2018 Graduation
Late Deadline for Graduating Undergraduate Students to Submit Application for Tuition Rebate
June 2 - July 24, Saturday - Tuesday Withdrawal from Course(s) with Academic Record ("W") Period ( 10 week sessions)
June 18, Monday 15th Class Day (Census Date)
July 4, Wednesday Independence Day (University Closed)
July 7, Saturday 60% of Term
July 24, Tuesday Withdrawal from Course(s) with Academic record ("W") Ends for 10-week session
July 30, Monday LAST DAY to Withdraw from the University (From All Courses) (10-week session)
Last Class Day. Ten Week Session
Last Day to apply for Summer 2018 Degree Conferral ONLY
July 31 - August 1, Tuesday-Wednesday Final Examination Period
August 4, Saturday Commencement
August 8, Wednesday Final Grades Due

Summer 2018 1st 5 Week

The Prairie View A&M University Academic Calendar is subject to change. Please check the Prairie View A&M University website for updates. 

Date Description
May 24 - 26, Thursday - Saturday Registration
May 28, Monday Memorial Day Holiday (University Closed)
May 29,Tuesday First Class Day
May 29, Tuesday Late Registration and Drop/Add Courses Web Registration Closes at
June 1, Friday 4th Class Day (Census Date)
June 1, Friday Last Day to Drop or Withdraw from Course(s) without Academic Record (First 5-week session)
June 1, Friday Late Deadline to Apply for Summer 2018 Graduation
June 1, Friday Late Deadline for Graduating Undergraduate Students to Submit Application for Tuition Rebate
June 2 - June 25, Saturday - Monday Withdrawal from Courses with Academic Record ("W") Begins (First 5-week session)
June 18, Monday 15th Class Day (Census Date)
June 20, Wednesday 60% of Term
June 25, Monday Last Day to Withdraw from Course(s) With Academic Record of (W)
June 29, Friday LAST DAY to Withdraw from the University (From All Courses for First 5-week session)
July 2, Monday Last Class Day. First 5-week Summer Session
July 2, Monday Final Exams
July 4, Wednesday Independence Day (University Closed)
July 6, Friday Final Grades Due for 1st 5 Week Session

Summer 2018 2nd 5 Week

The Prairie View A&M University Academic Calendar is subject to change. Please check the Prairie View A&M University website for updates. 

Date Description
May 24 - July 5, Thursday - Thursday Registration
June 1, Friday Late Deadline to Apply for Summer 2018 Graduation
Late Deadline for Graduating Undergraduate Students to Submit Application for Tuition Rebate
July 4, Wednesday Independence Day (University Closed)
July 5, Thursday First Class Day - 2nd Summer Session
July 6, Friday Late Registration and Drop/Add Courses- Web Registration Closes at Midnight
July 10, Tuesday 4th Class Day (Census Date)
July 10, Tuesday Last Day to Drop Course(s) without Academic Record - 2nd 5-Week
July 24, Tuesday 60% of Term
July 25, Wednesday 15th Class Day (Census Date)
July 26- August 2, Thursday - Thursday Withdrawal from Courses with Academic Record ("W") Period
August 2, Thursday Withdrawal from Courses with Academic Record ("W") Ends
August 3, Friday Last Day to Withdraw from the University (From All Courses)
August 3, Friday Last Class Day. Second Summer Session Ends
August 3, Friday Final Exams - 2nd 5-Week
August 4, Saturday Commencement
August 8, Wednesday Final Grades Due